Background Information

The Ministry of Education derives its mandate from the Constitution of Kenya, Chapter Four Articles 43, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, and 59 have provisions on children’s right to free and compulsory basic education, including quality services, and to access education institutions and facilities for persons with disabilities that are integrated into society, to the extent compatible with the interests of the person. This includes the use of Sign language, Braille or other appropriate means of communication, and access to materials and devices to overcome constraints arising from the person’s disability. There are also provisions on access for youth to relevant education and training; access to employment; participation and representation of minorities and marginalized groups in governance and other spheres of life, special opportunities in educational and economic fields, and special opportunities for access to employment. The rights of minorities and marginalized groups to reasonable access to water, health services and infrastructure are also enshrined, as it is incumbent upon government to develop a culture of human rights, promote gender equality and equity and facilitate gender mainstreaming in national development.


University Education in Kenya

The Commission for University Education (CUE) was established under the Universities Act, No. 42 of 2012, as the successor to the Commission for Higher Education. It is the Government agency mandated to regulate university education in Kenya.

List of Kenyan Universities

University of
Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and
United States International
Catholic University of Eastern
Africa Nazarene
University of Eastern Africa –
African Virtual
Kenya Methodist
Kiriri Women’s University of Science &

For more information on education in Kenya, visit the Commission for University Education website below


Higher Education Loans Board (HELB)

The Higher Education Loans Board, HELB, is the leading financier of higher education in Kenya. It is a State Corporation under the then Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology.

HELB was established by an Act of Parliament (Cap 213A) in 1995.

The mandate of the Board is to disburse loans, bursaries and scholarship to students pursuing higher education in recognized institution.

Note that the Ministry of Higher Education, Science & Technology is no longer providing loans and bursaries, and students should, therefore, look for alternative ways to fund their education and subsistence abroad.

Applying for a Research Permit in Kenya

The National Commission For Science, Technology & Innovation (NACOSTI) wishes to inform you that apart from our website, you can now do your online application for a Research Permit Via their blog.You just need to search and click on the Online Services on the Navigation bar.

Visit the following links for more information:

National Commission for Science Technology and Innovation

Nacosti Research Permit-

Applying for Student Pass in Kenya

Foreign Students wishing to study in Kenya are required by Law to apply for Student’s passes. For further information, visit the link below:

University Education In India

ICCR AND ITEC Scholarship

Kenyans wishing to Study in India on Government Scholarship can apply to ICCR through the Indian High Commission in Kenya. The Indian Technical and Economic Cooperation Programme (ITEC) also provides training targeted opportunities for Foreign Nationals.  Interested Kenyans can find out more information through the websites below:

There are also opportunities for Kenyans to pursue University Education as self-sponsored Students.

Make it Kenya

Click here watch the video